Laurie Anderson at Joe’s Pub

May 25, 2006 at 3:35 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Le Sweetie and I saw Laurie Anderson at Joe’s Pub this evening. Ms. Anderson played a 7 PM show in a very intimate setting. I was totally unfamiliar with her music or much of anything about her. I was fearful that it would be an hour of esoteric mush, but was pleasantly surprised.

Normally, I don’t really like electronic pop and I HATE programmed drumbeats with an utter passion. However, Anderson’s a humorous, understated performer, making all kinds of witty asides in her monologues-cum-songs, inspiring random giggles from the audience. Another thing too–I usually wouldn’t enjoy this sort of talk-singing, but Laurie Anderson does it effectively. She still has the spiky haircut, but despite a few wrinkles, seems ageless.

She even sings one song, “The Lost Art of Conversation.” The lyrics are simple but effective, and Anderson has a delicate, pretty voice. I read about how she began taking voice lessons and was surprised when her teacher told her she was a soprano, not an alto. This is definitely an artist I can appreciate, even if I don’t want to listen to her every other day.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.